MINUTES OF CEREMONIAL COUNCIL

Friday, 19 May 2017 (7:54 - 8:00 pm)

PRESENT

Cllr Eileen Keller (Chair)
Cllr Syed Ghani (Deputy Chair)

Cllr Syed Ahammad	Cllr Sanchia Alasia	Cllr Jeanne Alexander
Cllr Saima Ashraf	Cllr Abdul Aziz	Cllr Simon Bremner
Cllr Sade Bright	Cllr Laila M. Butt	Cllr Peter Chand
Cllr Faruk Choudhury	Cllr Edna Fergus	Cllr Irma Freeborn
Cllr Cameron Geddes	Cllr Rocky Gill	Cllr Kashif Haroon
Cllr Amardeep Singh Jamu	Cllr Elizabeth Kangethe	Cllr Danielle Lawrence
Cllr Mick McCarthy	Cllr Giasuddin Miah	Cllr Dave Miles
Cllr James Ogungbose	Cllr Adegboyega Oluwole	Cllr Moin Quadri
Cllr Hardial Singh Rai	Cllr Tony Ramsay	Cllr Chris Rice
Cllr Lynda Rice	Cllr Darren Rodwell	Cllr Faraaz Shaukat
Cllr Danielle Smith	Cllr Sam Tarry	Cllr Dominic Twomey
Cllr John White	Cllr Maureen Worby	Cllr Dan Young

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Cllr Evelyn Carpenter	Cllr Josephine Channer	Cllr Chris Hughes
Cllr Jane Jones	Cllr Margaret Mullane	Cllr Bill Turner
Cllr Jeff Wade	Cllr Phil Waker	

5. Declaration of Members' Interests

There were no declarations of interest.

6. Confer the Title of Honorary Freedom of the Borough

The Chair advised that a special meeting of the Ceremonial Council had been called in order to confer honorary titles for Freedom of the Borough under section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

The Leader moved that Lesley Hawes be conferred with the title Honorary Freeman of the Borough. The motion was seconded by Councillor Ashraf and in pursuance of section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Ceremonial Council **resolved** to admit Lesley Hawes to be an Honorary Freeman of the Borough.

The Leader moved that Jon Gildersleeve be conferred with the title Honorary Freeman of the Borough. The motion was seconded by Councillor Twomey and in pursuance of section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Ceremonial Council **resolved** to admit Jon Gildersleeve to be an Honorary Freeman of the Borough.

7. Confer the Title of Honorary Aldermen of the Borough

The Chair advised that nominations would now be made in order to confer honorary titles for Aldermen of the Borough under section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

Councillor Twomey moved that Roy Patient be conferred with the title Honorary Alderman of the Borough. The motion was seconded by Councillor Rodwell and in pursuance of section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Ceremonial Council **resolved** to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on Roy Patient.

Councillor Rai moved that Inder Singh Jamu be conferred with the title Honorary Alderman of the Borough. The motion was seconded by Councillor White and in pursuance of section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Ceremonial Council **resolved** to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on Inder Singh Jamu.